clip downs

Discuss surfcasting and and all other things related to surf fishing here.

Moderator: John Softly

ste80
Beginner
Beginner

clip downs

Post by ste80 » Fri Dec 02, 2005 2:02 pm

hey guys, im new to australia but i used to fish in italy, sometimes from the beach even if im not an expert of the surfcasting tecnique but im willing to learn!
i saw all the questions about the clip to block the bait near the sinker and make it release after the cast... i know that in italy some ppl use a small line which melt in the water, i think itd resolve the problem no? and itd be very simple to use, u need just to make a knot with this line to tie the bait to the sinker or main line,,,,
what do u think about this?? have u ever hear about this line and can u find it in australian fishing shops?

Andrew Falkner
Beginner
Beginner

Post by Andrew Falkner » Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:01 pm

That dissolving stuff is PVA (polyvinyl alcohol) which used to only be available as sheets, but is now offered as string or bags. You are correct, it would be excellent for clip down rigs, but would take a little time to dissolve and release the bait. I have never seen it available in Australia.

Cheers, Andrew

John Softly

Post by John Softly » Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:48 pm

Andrew,
I believe the technique was used by Carp anglers in the UK. The polyvinyl alcohol superceded ice cubes and salt which was used to cast the distance and once the cube and salt had melted the bait sat out there with no weight attached. Sort of still water free-lineing. Using it for clip down rigs could be time consuming and the effect of the cast, flight and impact would need to be ascertained.
Cheers
John

Roy Watson
Angler
Angler

Avoiding bite-offs

Post by Roy Watson » Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:37 pm

Has anyone got any suggestions as to how to rig a pillie or strip of bonito or mullet on a clipped-down rig which won't be bitten off by mackerel or tailor?